D2K, PEALS, Newcastle University

Membership and Terms of Reference

The METADAC Committee oversees applications for bio-data and samples from five major longitudinal studies: ELSA, Understanding Society and the CLS birth cohorts 1958, 1970 and Millennium, Natsal and IMAGINE ID. METADAC also has a wider remit to review current issues affecting data access and promote good practice and effective policies.

The Committee secretariat is Dr Stephanie Roberts, of the Health, Data and Society Group at the University of Newcastle.


Membership of the Committee includes social scientists and clinical scientists with particular knowledge of data access in longitudinal studies, legal expertise in the same field, and lay members with an expert perspective as participants in other similar studies. Also present in teleconferences and meetings are representatives from each of METADAC’s studies, technical experts on the data, and METADAC’s researchers and funders.

Technical Review Team

The technical review team comprise relevant researchers, data managers and lab managers.


Observers, who contribute to discussions of applications and policy, include representatives from the longitudinal studies, from the METADAC funders and METADAC research team.

NameMETADAC RoleAffiliation
Murtagh, Professor Madeleine (Chair)Committee Member - Social SciencesNewcastle University
Walker, Mr Neil (Deputy Chair)Committee Member - Biomedical SciencesNIHR BioResource
Suderman, Dr MatthewCommittee Member - Biomedical SciencesUniversity of Bristol
Townend, Professor DavidCommittee Member - Ethico-LegalMaastricht University
Hall, Ms AlisonCommittee Member - Ethico-LegalPHG Foundation
Hallowell, Dr NinaCommittee Member - Social SciencesUniversity of Oxford
Maughan, Professor BarbaraCommittee Member - Social SciencesKing's College London
Prior, Ms GillianCommittee Member - Social SciencesNatCen
McDonagh, Mr JoshCommittee Member - Study FacingNone
Viney, Dr WilliamCommittee Member - Study FacingGoldsmiths, University of London
Booth, Professor NickCommittee Member - ClinicalNewcastle University
Burton, Professor Paul (TRT Chair)Technical Review Team (1958BC)Newcastle University
Sanchez, Dr AidaTechnical Review Team (1958BC)Centre for Longitudinal Studies, UCL
Garner, Mr HughTechnical Review Team (1958BC)Newcastle University
Ring, Dr SusanTechnical Review Team (1958BC)University of Bristol
Kumari, Professor MeenaTechnical Review Team (Understanding Society)University of Essex
Wong, Dr AndrewTechnical Review Team (Understanding Society)UCL
Ajnakina, Dr OlesyaTechnical Review Team (ELSA)UCL
Sonnenberg, Dr PamObserver - NatsalUCL
Field, Dr NigelObserver - NatsalUCL
Steptoe, Dr AndrewObserver - ELSAUCL
Wolstencroft, Ms JeanneObserver - IMAGINE IDUCL
Skuse, Professor DavidObserver - IMAGINE IDBehavioural and Brain Sciences, UCL
Galobardes, Dr BrunaObserver - FunderWellcome Trust
Malloch, Mr GavinObserver - FunderMedical Research Council
Wiltshire, DeborahObserver - UKDSUK Data Service
Swain, Ms LaurenObserver - FunderEconomic Social Research Council
Conti, Ms GabriellaObserver - 1958 Birth CohortUniversity College of London
Minion, Dr JoelObserver - METADAC EvaluationNewcastle University
Mangino, Dr MassimoObserver - Twins UKKing's College London
Machirori, Dr MavisObserver - METADAC EvaluationNewcastle University
Benzeval, Dr MichaelaObserver - Understanding SocietyUniversity of Essex
Roberts, Dr StephanieMETADAC SecretariatNewcastle University